IFA/AFG ACT & Region

Upcoming events:

Walking Tour of the Australian Forestry School/ CSIRO Forestry Site, Yarralumla
Date: Sunday 11 October
Time: 9.30am-12pm

The IFA/AFG and Friends of ACT Trees are hosting a guided walk around the former Australian Forestry School/ CSIRO Forestry Site on Sunday 11 October.  The tour will focus on the heritage aspects of the site and include a tour of some or all of the heritage-listed buildings.  Planning to redevelop the site is underway (see here) so this is a great opportunity to see the site for yourself and have your say on its future.
Bookings, including a contact phone number, are essential and should be emailed to jillian.barnes13@gmail.com by Friday 9 October.  Meet at the car park at the rear of Forestry House, off Wilf Crane Crescent.  Enquires about the event should be directed to Kim Wells, phone 6251 8308, or kwells@velocitynet.com.au

You can read more about the history of the site and IFA/AFG engagement with the redevelopment proposals below.

Past events

19 September 2020
Namadgi National Park Field Trip
Click HERE  to read report from the field trip.

Current activities

Redevelopment of the Australian Forestry School/ CSIRO site, Yarraluma 
As advised in the IFA/AFG e-news of 13 March 2020, the owners of the CSIRO/ former Australian Forestry School site at Yarralumla are planning to redevelop the site when CSIRO vacates it, expected to be in 2022. Developer Oakstand Property Group are conducting stakeholder and community consultation about their proposed “Forestry Place ” development.  ACT & Region members are engaging constructively with the developers and other stakeholders. We’ll provide updates here.

Key resources about the site and its values:
Forestry Heritage, CSIRO site, Yarralumla (Background paper)
Redevelopment update, CSIRO site, Yarralumla (September 2020) 
CSIRO Yarralumla site – Heritage Management Plan

Further information: 
AFS/ CSIRO site Heritage contact: Kim Wells

ACT Committee Meeting Minutes

Download the 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes 2020 (1 September) HERE  
Download the 2020 Annual Meeting Agenda and papers (1 September) HERE  
Download the Divisional Committee Meeting Minutes 2019 - 2020 HERE


ACT Committee

Cris Brack 
Stuart Davey
Rachael Dawes
Matt de Jongh
Peter Kanowski (Co-Chair)
Peter Langdon
Geoff Roberts (Co-Chair)
John Sedgley
Maddie Shelton
Steve Thomas
Brian Turner
Heritage contact: Kim Wells 
Student contacts: Oliver Andrews, Emma Bryant