IFA/AFG QLD Division

Field Trip: Araucaria plantation management, fire recovery and tree planting at Jimna

Date: Saturday 20 March 2021

Time: 9:00am for morning tea, presentation and tour 9:30am to 11:30am
Location: HQPlantations Office, 33 Bellbird Road, JIMNA, QLD, 4515

To celebrate the International Day of Forests, the IFA/AFG Queensland Branch would like to invite IFA/AFG members and those interested in plantation management and fire recovery on a field trip to Jimna. During the trip you will receive an overview of the 2019 fire season, visit a fire-affected area and learn how the Jimna Hoop Pine plantations are being re-established. You will then have an opportunity to plant a Hoop Pine tree.  Delegates are required to arrange their own transport to Jimna (accessible on a bitumen road), where morning tea will be provided. A bus will then transport delegates around the tour sites. The trip will involve minimal walking. For those who wish to stay in the area, camping is available nearby at the QPWS Peach

There is no cost for this event
 *  Places are limited to 35 visitors
 *  Registration will close at 12:00pm on  Wednesday 17 March.
 *  All delegates must complete the HQPlantations online safety induction before attending the field trip
  All delegates to wear enclosed shoes or boots, long pants, long sleeves and a sun hat.

To Register, Click HERE


HQPlantations Online Safety Induction
All delegates must complete the HQPlantations online safety induction before attending the field trip.The induction takes around 30-40 minutes, and once completed, it is valid throughout the whole of the HQPlantations estate for 5 years. 

 *  To go to the Online Safety Induction Training, click HERE
 *  Click on Register
 *  Click New Worker/Visitor Registration
 *  Click Next
 *  On the “Select your employer” screen, Start typing HQP… and HQPlantations Visitors / HQPlantations Permittees will appear. 
 *  Select HQPlantations Visitors, then click select
 *  Click Next
 *  Follow the instructions on screen, and print or save a copy of the certificate you receive at the end.

QLD Committee

Alex Lindsay (Chair)
Tom Clapson (Secretary)
Kerrie Catchpoole
David Lee

Alison Dillon
Seamus Batstone
Sam Van Holsbeeck
Sandra Richards

Atherton Tablelands

Kevin Harding (President)

South East Queensland

David Wood (Secretary)
Alison Dillon (Vice President, PR)