WA Division AGM

Date: Thursday 19 November
Time: 5 pm WST

Meeting will be held on-line using GoToMeeting dial-in facility from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
You can also dial in using your phone. Australia (Toll Free): 1 800 193 385 
One-touch: tel:+611800193385,, 407842877#

1. Attendance and apologies
2. Minutes of previous AGM held November 2019
3. Chairperson report on Divisional activities
4. Election of office bearers and committee.
   Nominations are called for the position of Chairperson and Secretary (form below)
5. Other business
6. Meeting close

RSVP by 17 November.

Click HERE to register

Nominations are called for the positions of:
     - WA Division Chairperson
     - WA Division Secretary
     - Membership of the WA Division Committee

Nominations must be made by a Voting member of the Division and lodged by 5 pm WST on Tuesday 17 November 2020. 
The term of office is for up to three years.
Nominations should be made using the template below and forwarded to ifawadivision@gmail.com
Enquiries and nominations should be directed to ifawadivision@gmail.com

Click HERE to download the nomination form

WA Committee

Lachie McCaw (Chairman)

Brad Barr

Peter Beatty

John Clarke

John McGrath

Tim McNaught

Tony Mennen

Alannah Rowe

Celebrate Timber 2020

Saturday, November 14 2020
Albany, Western Australia 


Industry tour from 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Departing from Motel Le Grande, 497 Albany Highway
The tour will visit plantations, a seed orchard, nursery and the Albany Port.$40 per person (numbers limited)

Presentation Dinner from 6.30pm 
Motel Le Grande, 497 Albany Highway
$60 per person (plus drinks) includes a two-course dinner

For more information, click HERE


The South West Agroforestry Network is a branch of the national organisation, the Australian Forest Growers (now merged with the IFA), which represents private tree and forest growers across the country.  It is a voice for private tree growers at local, State and national levels.   
The South West Agroforestry Network covers the greater South West of Western Australia; i.e. the Wheatbelt, South Coast and South West regions.

SWAN Comittee

Duncan Beggs (President) Gary Brennan (Treasurer/Sec)
Alan Briggs (Wheatbelt)
Bob Hingston (South West)
Clare Kent (Wheatbelt)
Dan Wildy (South West)
David Humphreys (South West)
Greg Hodgson (South West)
Ian Hall (AFG board member)
James Kernaghan (Sth Coast)
Marty & Connie Winch-Buist
Peter Beatty (South West)
Tim Mitchell (South Coast)

Email: afgswan@gmail.com

What we do
We support tree growers and others by:

  • Training and field days
  • Master TreeGrower courses
  • The Peer Group Mentoring program
  • Providing access to information
  • Connecting people to services
  • Circulating e-Newsletter

Trees are planted for a whole range of different purposes, but some principles are common to all.  We have tried to provide basic guides for some of the key elements for successful tree growing.
Click HERE information  to find out more about:


  • Planting Design
  • Species Selection
  • Weed Control
  • Site Preparation
  • Planting
  • Seedling protection
  • ;Pruning
  • Thinning
  • Coppice Management

For more information visit www.swagroforestrynetwork.com.au

AFG SWAN Register

AFG SWAN Branch is coordinating a register of timber assets on private land. This will benefit growers across South West WA by matching their timber with any opportunities for existing and new markets.

  • Free for AFG members. To access the register for free as a member, login first and click the Events tab (Note, AFG is offering up to 2 months "free" membership for anyone who joins AFG in May and June. Please join and pay online then email accounts@afg.asn.au to indicate you would like to take advantage of this offer)
  • $50 for non-members

Other benefits - access to SWAN services including:

  • The Peer Group Mentoring Program (i.e. support for landowners who want to use trees but aren't too sure how to start)
  • Master TreeGrower courses
  • Discount for field days
  • Gate sign with SWAN logo