

CHARTER

Forestry Australia Merit Awards Committee

The Merit Awards Committee is a committee appointed by The Board of Forestry Australia. The Merit Awards Committee is composed of at least three members, with the Chair nominated by the Board. The members should be members of Forestry Australia, and previous awardees of one of the relevant merit awards. Members are appointed for a three-year term but are eligible for re-appointment.

Purpose

The purpose of the Merit Awards Committee is to oversee and manage the award of:

- 1. The N W Jolly Medal,
- 2. The Prince of Wales Award,
- 3. Appointment of Fellows

according to the Rules (Attached) established by the Board from time to time.

Functions

The functions of the Merit Awards Committee include:

- To review and provide recommendations to the Board on award criteria.
- To formulate and oversee the nominations and selection process for each of the awards.
- To make recommendations to the Board for each award.
- To oversee the integrity of the award process, from design phase through to the award ceremony.
- To provide recommendations to the Board from time to time for improvements to the Awards.

Approved by the Forestry Australia Board

Thursday 13 April 2023

T +61 3 7065 4250

E <u>admin@forestry.org.au</u>