Forestry Australia Conference Wrap, Jolly Medal & Prince of Wales Award

14 October 2021

After more than 50 hours of program content delivered by 150 speakers to 453 delegates, Forestry Australia (formerly IFA/AFG) has celebrated the conclusion of its biggest ever conference.

Forestry Australia CEO Jacquie Martin thanked all delegates and speakers for contributing to the success of the conference, which took place both online and in person from Country Club Tasmania in Launceston.

“The levels of interest and engagement, and quality of speakers and presentations at the conference shows the future of forestry in Australia is in great hands,” Ms Martin said.

“The Conference passed nine resolutions around key themes including: the Forestry Australia name change; Measurable outcomes and key performance indicators for fire management; Traditional Owners and forests; Diversity; Forest and trees on farms; Forests as a natural climate solution; Natural Capital Accounting and Forestry education.

“Forestry Australia will now prepare the resolutions for wider public distribution, with full details of the resolutions to be released in the coming weeks.

“I’d like to thank all involved for contributing to such a successful conference and welcoming in our new identity Forestry Australia. We’re already looking forward to welcoming even more forestry professionals to our 2022 Symposium next year.”

The final day of the conference also saw the presentation of Forestry Australia’s highest and most prestigious honour for outstanding service to the forestry profession, the NW Jolly Medal.

Forestry Australia President Bob Gordon paid tribute to this year’s NW Jolly recipients, Dr Jerry Leech and Gary Morgan AM AFSM.

“Named in honour of Norman William Jolly, who made an outstanding and pioneering contribution to the development of professional forestry in Australia in the first half of the 20th century, the NW Jolly Medal recognises the highest level of service to our profession in Australia,” Mr Gordon said.

“On behalf of Forestry Australia, I would like to acknowledge Dr Jerry Leech and Gary Morgan AM AFSM in continuing in Jolly’s footsteps and making their own outstanding contributions to the profession.

“Dr Jerry Leech has contributed to the foundation of the modern Australian plantation industry through his contributions to the measurement of forests, the design of yield regulation systems, development of innovative models of plantation growth and yield, development of the Australian Standard for valuation of forests and mentoring and training of resource modelling and planning staff in Australia and internationally.

“Over a period of more than 40 years, Gary Morgan has made many significant contributions to the management of forests and forest fires at the state, national and international levels, through his distinguished and outstanding work as a forester, fire manager and fire science leader.

Mr Gordon also congratulated Tegan Brown, who was awarded the Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry.

“I would like to congratulate Tegan Brown for winning this year’s Prince of Wales Award, which recognises and promotes engagement in and dedication to, the principles of sustainable forest management including policy, planning and practice, sound science-based land stewardship,” he said.

“Through demonstrating excellence across academic pursuits, employment and voluntary extracurricular work within forestry, Tegan has shown she is a worthy recipient who will no doubt go on to achieve great things for the future of our forests.”

Full citations for NW Jolly Medal recipients Dr Jerry Leech and Gary Morgan AM AFSM are attached below.

Media contact:
David Abbott
Font PR,
0400 446 736