N. W. Jolly Medal

The N.W. Jolly Medal is Forestry Australia’s highest and most prestigious honour for outstanding service to the profession of forestry in Australia.
It recognises contributions from across the full scope of forestry and reflecting the diversity of significant contributions being made across a wide range of disciplines and forest management activities. In this context, forestry includes the sustainable management, development and use of forests for the diversity of goods and services that forest ecosystems provide, whether for public, private or commercial purposes, including education, research and development, forest policy and all types of forest land management.

The Award is named in honour of Norman William Jolly (1882-1954), who made an outstanding contribution to development of professional forestry in Australia in the first half of the 20th Century. More information about N.W. Jolly can be found HERE.

The Award is made by Forestry Australia’s Board on the recommendation of the Merit Awards Committee, which is made up of three Forestry Australia members and previous Jolly Medal recipients. The Rules for the N.W. Jolly Medal can be found HERE.

2023 – Call for nominations

Forestry Australia is calling for nominations for the N.W. Jolly Medal with recipients announced at the 2023 ANZIF Conference in October 2023.

Nominations close: 12.00 noon (AEST) Friday 11 August 2023

  • Click HERE to download the nomination form (PDF)
  • Click HERE to download the nomination from (Word)

N.W. Jolly Medal Recipients

2021 Dr Jerry Leech 1989 S. W.  Gentle
Gary Morgan AM AFSM 1988 G. Minko
2019 Tony G.  Bartlett AFSM 1987 A. Keeves
Rob de Fégely AM 1986 A. G.  Brown AM
2018 Russell  Haines 1985 T. M. Cunningham
Anne Geary 1984 G. N. Baur
2017 Christine Stone 1983 D. G. Nikles PSM
Rob Youl OAM 1982 J. H. Chinner
2015 J. Hans Drielsma AM 1981 L. T.  Carron
2012 Sadanandan  Nambiar AO 1980 R. H. Luke AM
2011 R.L. Newman OAM 1979 W. D.  Muir
D.W. Flinn 1978 A. G. MacArthur
2009 D.I. Bevege 1977 N. Hall
2008 R.J. Underwood AM 1974 N. B. Lewis
2007 G.A. Kile AM 1973 J. M. Gilbert
2006 F. Jack Bradshaw 1972 A. H.  Crane
2005 E.R. Rolley 1971 L. D.  Pryor AO
2003 N. Phil Cheney PSM 1970 W. G. Chandler MBE
2002 R. A. Free 1969 A. R.  Trist
2000 G. J. Bacon AM 1968 L. S. Hudson
1999 B. J. Beggs  1967 A. C. Harris
1997 D. Doley 1966 K. P.  McGrath AM
1996 R. C. Ellis 1965 L. R. Benjamin CBE
1995 F. H. McKinnell 1964 D. A. N. Cromer
1994 I. S. Ferguson AM 1963 E. H. F.  Swain
1993 R. G.  Florence 1962 M. R. Jacobs ISO
1991 L. A. Pederick 1959 V. A. Grenning
1990 M. J. Hall AM

NB: Australian and Imperial Honours only are shown. Recipients may have received honours from other countries and academies.