Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry

The Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry is to recognize the achievements of two outstanding young forest professionals in Australia and New Zealand. This award is to encourage engagement in and dedication to, the principles of sustainable forest management including policy, planning and practice, sound science based land stewardship. Awardees must be committed to public outreach and knowledge exchange focusing on the wise use and conservation of forests and the ecosystems that they encompass.

The eligibility criteria for the award are as follows:

  1. One trophy will be awarded in each country each year. Although available annually, the trophy will only be awarded if a suitable candidate/nominee is judged to be eligible and deserving by the Institute’s nomination committee.
  2. Eligible recipients must either be a student or recent graduate and up to 30 years of age from a forestry, natural resources or environmental science university or college program, who has made outstanding contributions to their school and program, and to forest professionalism in general, within their community.
  3. Recipients must be members in good standing of their respective Institutes, thus demonstrating their personal commitment to lifelong continuing education and professional development, and their support of forest professionalism.
  4. The recipient can only receive the trophy once and must be a citizen of Australia or New Zealand

Selection Criteria
Consideration is given to the individual’s personal engagement and activity with respect to sustainable forest management as it relates to their current career achievement in, volunteerism, leadership, citizenship, academics, extra-curricular activities, and other personal and professional accomplishments.

  1. Dedication to Sustainable Forest Management principles through:
    Career achievement: demonstrated application of and adherence to good forest management policy, planning and practice, and observance of and dedication to professional ethics in a work-related capacity.
  2. Public outreach and knowledge exchange: leadership and involvement in volunteer community activities related to sustainable forest management and promoting understanding of good forestry practices – i.e. tree planting, eco-oriented youth groups, habitat rehabilitation and restoration projects, nature trail maintenance, etc.
  3. Academics: demonstrated effort and engagement throughout post-secondary career, specifically in forest management, ecology and conservation related courses.
  4. Memberships and affiliations: Institute membership, environmental organizations, charities, etc.
  5. Involvement with the Institute: participation in programs, activities and events – i.e. conferences, workshops, science seminars, field tours, socials, section council meetings.


2021 Dr Tegan Brown
2019 Mr Leon Holt
2018 Ms Erin Hodgson
2017 Mr Jesse Mahoney