Awards, Honours & Scholarships

To encourage excellence in forestry Forestry Australia each year offers a number of competitive honours, awards and scholarships. More detailed information is available on each offering by clicking on the links in the menu above.

  • The N W Jolly Medal is the Institute’s highest honour, recognising members who have served forestry in a prominent way. An award bestowed by the Forestry Australia Board.
  • The Chinner Medal is an annual award given to a final year student in the University of Melbourne’s Master of Ecosystem Science for outstanding performance in field studies.
  • The Jacobs Medal is is an annual award given to a final year student in the Australian National University’s Bachelor of Science (Forestry)  for outstanding performance in field studies.
  • The Forestry Scholarship Fund offers up to 3 undergraduate scholarships and up to 15 part-scholarships towards the National Forestry Masters Program (NFMP) scholarships each year.
  • The A R Henderson Grant is offered annually for the professional development of Voting and Associate members.
  • The Maxwell Ralph Jacobs Fund is now permanently closed but was used to support worthy projects in any field of forestry research and to provide graduates within Australasia with support for professional development not readily available from other sources.
  • Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry recognizes the achievements of two outstanding young forestry professionals in Australia and New Zealand in sustainable forest management
  • The Russell Grimwade Prize  is for the advancement of scientific forestry in Australia.

Membership Recognition

The Forestry Australia Board can occasionally recognise members who demonstrate outstanding service to forestry and to the Institute by bestowing either honorary membership  or fellow membership.

An Honorary Member of the Institute is bestowed on people who have made an outstanding contribution or conducted outstanding scientific work in subjects allied to forestry.

Voting members of the Institute who, in the opinion of the Board, have rendered outstanding service to forestry and the Institute can be invited to be a Fellow Member.