IFA/AFG Director recognised with Australian Fire Service Medal

2 February 2021

The Institute of Foresters of Australia and Australian Forest Growers (IFA/AFG) has congratulated Director Dr Lachlan (Lachie) McCaw for being awarded the prestigious Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) as part of the Australia Day Honours.

Dr McCaw received the medal, which recognises distinguished service by members of Australian fire services, for his ability to bring strategy, fire science and incident management together to inform best practice fire-management principles.

Fellow AFSM recipient and Chair of the IFA/AFG’s Forest Fire Management Committee Mr Gary Morgan AM AFSM said Dr McCaw’s significant contribution to forest fire management and fire research made him a thoroughly deserving recipient of the award.

“Lachie’s dedication to forest fire management through his research and operational management is second to none,” Mr Morgan said.

“He exemplifies the best form of research – not only conducting significant research but also applying this knowledge actively through the practice of forest fire management.

“Lachie is also very generous in imparting this knowledge and experience to colleagues and peers, which makes him such a valuable contributor to fire management throughout Australia.”

Dr McCaw has worked in forestry since 1980 and is a Registered Professional Forester (RPF) with skills in native forest management. He has extensive experience in bushfire research and management with a focus on forests, woodlands and shrublands of Western Australia.

His research interests include fire behaviour, fire climate and weather, and the role of planned fire in sustainable land management. He has been involved in a many aspects of native forest management including regeneration processes, thinning of regrowth stands and forest health. He works as a Senior Principal Research Scientist with the Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions Western Australia, manages a 15ha family forest at Manjimup and has been an active member of Australian Forest Growers.

As well as being a Director of the IFA/AFG, Dr McCaw adds to the wealth of knowledge and experience on the IFA/AFG’s Forest Fire Management Committee. Other committee members who have been acknowledged for their contribution to forest fire management in Australia include Gary Morgan AM AFSM, Ruth Ryan AFSM, Euan Ferguson AFSM, Kevin Tolhurst AM, Phil Cheney PSM and Neil Cooper PSM.


Media contact:
David Abbott,
0400 446 736